The latest PS3 news – read this and your PlayStation will thank you…


Your PS3 future awaits – what is coming soon for PlayStation?


Our unique ‘no-score’ reviews, delivering fair and balanced assessments…


We’re called PS3 Attitude for a reason. Check out our PlayStation opinions here…


Need PS Vita news and reviews? We’ve got your handheld PlayStation covered too…

Home » Featured, News, Videos

Activision announces Guitar Hero: Warriors of Rock

Submitted by on Friday, 4 June 2010No Comment

It’s been a while since we last heard from Guitar Hero. After all, Activision managed to pump out a whopping seven Hero games last year so perhaps that’s a good thing.

Today they have announced the next main title in the series; Guitar Hero: Warriors of Rock and it features much of the same rock star modes we’ve seen in the past along with a few new additions to keep things interesting.

New to the series will be an actual story-driven mode called Quest Mode and will be narrated by rock legend Richard Simmons himself. The story involves our eight Guitar Hero characters transforming into Rock Warriors and using their powers of music to help the Demi-God of Rock (Simmons) take down “The Beast” and save rock n’ roll.

Rather than throwing punches and kicks or shooting a gun, you’ll be shredding some notes on your guitar. Warriors of Rock will be getting an all new guitar to help with all the shredding you’ll be doing. What does this mean exactly? Perhaps they’ll be notes all along the neck or maybe even strings. We’re not sure.

Also introduced in Warriors of Rock is Quickplay+ which features hundreds of challenges for every song. When we say every song we really mean that because it includes all on-disc content as well as any DLC that’s been put out. These challenges include Band Streak, High Score and Power Challenge, which allows players to choose any two warrior powers they have unlocked to try and earn ridiculously high scores.

The game’s setlist will feature over 90 songs, mostly from the rock n’ roll genre and will mainly geared towards the guitar instrument. Here are the confirmed songs we know so far:

  • AFI – “Dancing Through Sunday”
  • Anthrax – “Indians”
  • Avenged Sevenfold – “Bat Country”
  • Black Sabbath – “Children Of The Grave”
  • Buzzcocks – “What Do I Get?”
  • Children Of Bodom – “If You Want Peace… Prepare For War”
  • The Cure – “Fascination Street”
  • Def Leppard – “Pour Some Sugar On Me (Live)”
  • Dethklok – “Bloodlines”
  • Dire Straits – “Money For Nothing”
  • DragonForce – “Fury of the Storm”
  • Drowning Pool – “Bodies”
  • Fall Out Boy – “Dance, Dance”
  • Foo Fighters – “No Way Back”
  • Foreigner – “Feels Like The First Time”
  • The Hives – “Tick Tick Boom”
  • Jane’s Addiction – “Been Caught Stealing”
  • Jethro Tull – “Aqualung”
  • KISS – “Love Gun”
  • Linkin Park – “Bleed It Out”
  • Megadeth – “Sudden Death”
  • Metallica & Ozzy Osbourne – “Paranoid (Live)”
  • Muse – “Uprising”
  • My Chemical Romance – “I’m Not Okay (I Promise)”
  • Night Ranger – “ (You Can Still) Rock In America”
  • Nine Inch Nails – “Wish”
  • The Offspring – “Self Esteem”
  • Queen – “Bohemian Rhapsody”
  • Rammstein – “Waidmanns Heil”
  • The Rolling Stones – “Stray Cat Blues”
  • Silversun Pickups – “There’s No Secrets This Year”
  • Slayer – “Chemical Warfare”
  • Slipknot – “Psychosocial”
  • Stone Temple Pilots – “Interstate Love Song”
  • ZZ Top – “Sharp Dressed Man (Live)”