The latest PS3 news – read this and your PlayStation will thank you…


Your PS3 future awaits – what is coming soon for PlayStation?


Our unique ‘no-score’ reviews, delivering fair and balanced assessments…


We’re called PS3 Attitude for a reason. Check out our PlayStation opinions here…


Need PS Vita news and reviews? We’ve got your handheld PlayStation covered too…

Home » Featured, News

Rock Band 3 details and first songs revealed

Submitted by on Monday, 14 June 2010No Comment

A few weeks ago, we reported on a rumoured new keyboard peripheral for Rock Band 3. It turns out that, not only was this true, but Harmonix has a lot more tricks up its sleeve…

As well as the keyboard peripheral, Rock Band 3 also adds 3-part vocal harmonies to the main Rock Band formula, which were first seen in The Beatles: Rock Band. That means you can now have up to seven people (if you’re that popular!) rocking out to the same song, in the same room.

The game also features what Harmonix is calling “Pro” gameplay, which adds new fully-scalable instruments for an experience that is much closer to the real thing: Pro Keys uses a two-octave, pitch-accurate keyboard; Pro Drums adds 3 cymbals, and the game now differentiates between the cymbals and tom-tom drums; and Pro Guitar uses a fully functional, full-sized, six-string electric guitar controller.

However, don’t despair if you think these new peripherals will cost a lot of money, because the developer was keen to stress that all current Rock Band and Guitar Hero instruments will still work with Rock Band 3 (just not on Pro difficulty).

New features also include a revamped Career mode with over 700 goals and rewards, drop-in/drop-out gameplay for casual players (like Guitar Hero), a song recommendation system similar to iTunes’s Genius, social networking tools with in-game access to the likes of Facebook and Twitter, more song-search filters, and the ability to save and share setlists with friends.

Finally, Rock Band 3 will include 83 songs across a 5-decade-spanning setlist (see below for the announced tracks). At the game’s launch, players will also have access to around 2000 songs on the PS Store, and that doesn’t even include the exportable tracks in Rock Band, Rock Band 2, Lego Rock Band, Green Day: Rock Band, and other disc-based track packs.

The complete list of 22 announced tracks is as follows:

  • The Cure – “Just Like Heaven”
  • Dio – “Rainbow in the Dark”
  • The Doors – “Break on Through (to the Other Side)”
  • Huey Lewis and the News – “The Power of Love”
  • Ida Maria – “Oh My God”
  • Jane’s Addiction – “Been Caught Stealing”
  • Jimi Hendrix – “Crosstown Traffic”
  • Joan Jett – “I Love Rock and Roll”
  • Juanes – “Me Enamora”
  • Metric – “Combat Baby”
  • Night Ranger – “Sister Christian”
  • Ozzy Osbourne – “Crazy Train”
  • Phoenix – “Lasso”
  • Queen – “Bohemian Rhapsody”
  • Rilo Kiley – “Portions for Foxes”
  • Smash Mouth – “Walkin’ on the Sun”
  • Spacehog – “In the Meantime”
  • Stone Temple Pilots – “Plush”
  • Them Crooked Vultures – “Dead End Friends”
  • The Vines – “Get Free”
  • Whitesnake – “Here I Go Again”
  • The White Stripes – “The Hardest Button to Button”